RCE North Texas is a network of multidisciplinary stakeholders, including higher education institutions, businesses, non-governmental organizations, community associations, and local, regional, state and federal government agencies.

The North Texas RCE comprises the sixteen counties of North Texas. Of the ten ecoregions within the state of Texas, the sixteen-county North Texas RCE is located predominantly in two of them. Collin, Dallas, Ellis, Navarro, Hunt, Rockwall and Kaufman counties are in what is known as the Blackland Prairies ecoregion; while Denton, Tarrant, Johnson, Wise, Parker, Hood, Somervell, Palo Pinto and Erath counties are in the Cross-Timber ecoregion. The proximate dividing line between the two is the main corridor of the Trinity River as it runs between Dallas and Fort Worth. The Blackland Prairies ecoregion spans 6.1 million hectares from the Red River on the Texas-Oklahoma border to near San Antonio in South Texas. The Cross Timbers ecoregion stretches from Kansas and Oklahoma to an area just south of the North Texas geographic region.

As the second most populous state in the nation, the region of North Texas has a larger population than most of the other fifty states. The sixteen counties of North Texas encompass a diverse and vibrant demographic and economic region. Our region has grown dramatically over the past forty years, and it’s about to get much more crowded, with growth projections indicating a more than doubling in population size from the current 7.2 million residents by the year 2050 . In this rapid growth scenario, all sectors of the region have concerns and raise the question: How will North Texas fare and grow in a sustainable manner as it confronts exploding population projections and associated environmental, economic and social challenges. At this pivotal moment for North Texas, the formation of this RCE will be an influencer in the community as cities expand, providing the resources to maximize the potential economic opportunity that well-managed communities can offer.

We are focused on the following SDGs, deemed priority for our region:

SDG #3

Good Health and Well-Being

SDG #4

Quality Education

SDG #11

Sustainable Cities and Communities



A healthy, equitable and resilient North Texas.


We connect organizations in North Texas to enable healthier communities, shared value and sustainable development through education, collaboration and capacity building.


The stated goal of the UNU-IAS Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) Programme is to bridge the gap between learning and development through the following objectives:

Objective 1

Accelerating local and regional solutions to sustainability issues

Objective 2

Re-orienting higher education for societal transformation into SD

Objective 3

Develop SD and ESD competencies and capabilities and a science-policy interface


Strategy A

Create a dynamic, inclusive and diverse governance structure

Strategy B

Collaborate with stakeholders from every sector

Strategy C

Be a conduit for transformative education in North Texas

Strategy D

Build research and development (R&D) capability to strengthen ESD in North Texas

Join RCE:

Email Meghna Tare at mtare@uta.edu